Untangling and Settling


*Sigh* It’s been over five months, and I’m writing today because I sure as heck don’t want to make it six.  Truth be told, I’ve been lacking the motivation to write because I have a lot going on in my life right now.  I’m still wrestling with all of it.

This will be a short update.  Please forgive me.

Okay, here’s the scoop in a sentence: An entry-level worker doing 32-hours a week with her first job mitigates strain on mental and emotional state by continuing her tenure with Kañanazo, the independent company with a bachata team, while desperately hoping she will find a new ballroom venue.

There are personal issues, too.  But, I don’t want to talk about those.  The bachata team is flourishing more than I, or the directors, ever expected.  In short, we’re going to get trained by bachata champions in all manners of technique to make us into well-rounded dancers.  That means hip-hop, ballet, and even splits training.  The champions saw the team perform at the Las Vegas congress and wanted to take us under their wing.  (No, I wasn’t there.)  We’ll be a part of their team, with two out-of-state sister teams, while still maintaining our own company name.  Not bad at all!  I’m not going to reveal too much because our directors want to keep the details hush-hush.

The saddest part in my dancing life is that my search for a new ballroom venue has been put on the back burner.  That’s part of those personal issues I mentioned earlier.  For now, let me just say that I’m going through a transition that’s a huge factor in my general well-being.  It’s also a huge factor in being an adult.  Combined with my regular work schedule, I haven’t had the energy to search for a new ballroom home.

I know that this blog is called “…Then Came Dance,” and it’s mostly been about ballroom.  But, I don’t have that right now.  I refuse to let this blog wither because life happened.  As it stands, I’ll be writing about my social dancing.  We’ll see how this all unfolds.

Alaina

One thought on “Untangling and Settling

The floor is yours now.

