The Scoop


photo by snowpea&bokchoi (flickr)

photo by snowpea&bokchoi (flickr)

I’ve been procrastinating with this blog of mine because I feel like all the life has been sucked out of my dancing.  If that suffers, so does my writing.  Fortunately, my sense of professionalism compels me to update more than once a month (read: sarcasm).  I’d like to get back to updating once a week.  But, I’m not sure when that’s going to happen given my job search, so please continue to bear with me.  Things have been hard lately dance-wise.

Tommy has been gone for at least a month, and I’ve decided to stop counting.  There’s no way he’s going to make it to the Texas Area Team Match this Saturday.  Not that it matters to me because I wasn’t going to participate, though I am going to cheer for my fellow dancers.  I was going to focus on performing in my first Arthur Murray show.  The keyword is was.  It depends on how near to December 5th Tommy returns, if he does at all.

I’ll be brutally honest: I don’t think he’s coming back.  I can only hope for so long.  I decided to break my own heart, so to speak, and assume the negative because I need to move on.  The timing is never good when someone you care about leaves, but crap, this really sucked!  We were working on Viennese waltz and cobbling together an introduction to my show routine.

I find I have to make myself go to the studio, and I don’t remember the last time I forced myself to go.  It came naturally because I loved it so much.  Still I must go because I desire to continually improve, not to mention that Eddie now knows I have an interest in trying to become a dance instructor.  It certainly doesn’t have to be at that studio,  but I need to show him that I’m consistent, even in the face of unsavory circumstances.  I’ve been balancing this with dancing socially.

I’ve been taking private lessons with Olga, which is essential for a proper feminine perspective.  Eddie and she will be splitting private lessons with Tommy’s former students.  And for the record, I feel no need to leave the studio and will not unless absolutely necessary.  Finally, the goal now is to work on becoming Silver while trying to think of a new college graduation present.

Until next time,

Alaina

The floor is yours now.

