Just Ask: A Story


This is from our Medal Ball, when I officially became Bronze IV.

This is from our Medal Ball, when I officially became Bronze IV

I’ve just been at an utter loss of what to write lately, and it’s been irking me.  Then, I went to Houston Salsa Dancer’s annual holiday party.  Oh yeah, it’s context time!  I’m a member of an online meet up group for partner dancers in their 20s to 30s.  I signed up because I wanted to find friends that shared my hobby.  Thus, I went to the event, beaming with happiness every time a man asked me to dance bachata with him.

Salsa is the dance that started it all for me.  But if I were made to choose, I like bachata the most.  I’m not going to mince words; this dance is hot.  I adore the acting because it helps eases the tension while remaining is noncommittal.  This means I can swivel my hips, do body rolls, and go into reasonable body contact with very handsome men.  However, I’m still reserved physically.  If any of you have been to a Latin club, y’all know  people can get really into it.  I’ll say this now: grinding is not my thing.  I think there’s a better way to dance sexily. (My most awkward dance moment was when I was surrounded by a ring of grinders that, I swear, seemed to follow my date and me around the floor.)

Ahem, that is quite enough of that.  I saw one of the administrators of the meet up while dancing bachata.  I felt him stare at me, despite the crowd.  I got the vibe that he wanted to dance with me.  I had danced with him before and was happy to oblige.  The thing is, he never asked.  He just stared.  Occasionally, he left the room because I was dancing with someone else.  Then, he would come back, but another had already asked me to dance.  I managed to talk to him, and he told me he was trying to ask me to dance.  I perceived slight irritation in his voice.  All I was thinking was “Why didn’t you wait until the song was over to ask?  Why did you just stare at me?  Why didn’t you ask me?”  My thoughts speak what I dare not say aloud.  Instead, I said I’d save a dance for him later, which I did.

People, if you snooze you lose.  In a packed club, everyone is looking for a dance partner.  You see a person you’d love to dance with, just ask.  That goes for men and women.  Don’t just stare.

The floor is yours now.

