The Dancer’s Life


Authoress’ Note: The following post will have overlap with this one. However, I want further elaboration.

__

Waiting

As I said in my note, this is an add-on.  The original was specific, more personal.  With this one, I’m going to outline general aspects of a dancer’s lifestyle.  Shall we?

I think everyone lives a specific lifestyle of some kind.  Most athletes I know personally are runners.  But, y’all know me: I’m a dancer.  I’m a member of that crazy cult group that spends life in heels, cares about how tan I am, loves hardwood floors, and, well, the list could go on.  The following are four aspects of said list.  (Note: I did say that this was going to be a general catalogue, but it’s also personal in that these are aspects I’ve chosen for myself.)

Practice

By practice, I mean dancing alone.  If you can’t perform the steps on your own, I daresay that you don’t know them as well as you should.  It’s a bold claim, but one I’ve applied to my dancing.  Partner dancing can be easy provided you have a competent partner.  For a follow, you just have to, ahem, follow, but, are you really learning?  Yes, in a sense.  However, what’s going to happen when you’re dancing with someone new?  Will you be able to finish the step if your partner doesn’t?

I have to ask myself these questions.  If anything is lacking, I practice.  There’s also this often-nasty thing called “technique”.  It’s what makes all those steps you learn perfect.  A practice session may only consist of a single action.  I tend to focus on rumba walks for extended periods of time.  Repeat after me: “Oh, my aching feet!”

Private Lessons and Group Classes

These two belong together, and it would behoove any ballroom dancer to do both.  Private lessons are one-on-one.  It’s really nice to have a professional put you through your paces and fix any mistakes.  Bit by bit, all your rough edges are polished to a fine sheen.  That attention is less focused during group class, but there are added benefits.  Every dancer will lead or follow in a unique way.  Dancing with multiple people increases versatility.  It’s also a great way to meet other people.

Supplementary Exercise   

In a perfect world, I’d only dance.  Unfortunately, there are times when one can’t dance.  *tears*  I remember when I got all four of wisdom teeth out.  I think I was more upset at the fact that I couldn’t dance than I was with the throbbing pain in my jaw.  Barring hospitalization and anything similar, it’s always good to have something extra to keep your body in shape when dancing isn’t an option.  For example, I’m currently working on strengthening my hips so I can achieve higher leg extension.  Extra exercise will also help form healthy habits.  Speaking of which, I never thought I’d write this one down…

Diet 

I’ll be honest: my body has never been that much of an issue, but I think this often crucial aspect overlooked.  I went on a detoxification diet to help ease my anxiety and thought, “Feh, how much good is this going to do?”  Um, it worked in spades.  In fact, it worked so well that I made the diet a permanent part of my life.  I have no doubt it’s helped my dancing, though I don’t know specifics.  Plus, if I’m going to dance my best as I age, a healthy diet is not an option: it’s a requirement.

__

P.S.: Did I leave anything out?  

 

The floor is yours now.

