Burnout


 

photo by Jannes Pockele (Flickr)

photo by Jannes Pockele (Flickr)

The title says it all, friends.  It also explains why I haven’t updated lately (that and it’s crunch time in college, with finals coming in May).  I’ve hit the wall.  There’s very little emotion concerning dance these days.

Of course, if the reason I danced was based on something as petty as present feelings, I wouldn’t have lasted a month.  I’m not quitting.  I’d be stupid if I quit to say the least.  However, there is a feeling of lethargy here.  I’ve actually been trying to motivate myself to get up and go to dance.  Since when did I need motivation?  Most of the time,  I’d try to find excuses to go dance.  It shouldn’t be this way.  Well, like anything in life, there’s bound to be ups and downs.  I just have to stick it out.  I hope y’all will stick it out with me.

Yours truly,

Alaina

P.S.: Isn’t it annoying when life bleeds into your oasis?

4 thoughts on “Burnout

  1. I know exactly how you feel. Dancing is very rewarding but it can also be very demanding and time consuming. I think we all hit walls from time to time when it can be hard to drag yourself to the studio. But you’ll get your motivation back soon enough. Sometimes it takes just one great lesson. Sometimes it even helps to take a little time away. Hang in there.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I think that feeling of needing to get away is the sign of a healthy relationship with anything, so I’ve taken breaks before. What’s troublesome is that I know I want to dance, but I have no idea where the feelings went.

  2. Alaina – Hang in there. I think you nailed it when you said life has its ups and downs. And/or, maybe you need a rest and your bod knows that. I’ll bet when finals are over, you’ll be back on the floor with a vengeance!

    • Thank you for your kind words. It’s so nice to have an online community of ballroom dancers because we can really understand what the other is talking about when they say things like, “I’m burned out.”

      I’m pretty sure that 99.9 % of my burnout is coming from the daily grind we all experience. I’ll definitely do my best to get rest for my body and mind.

The floor is yours now.

