Things to Share


I feel a bit foolish.  Here I am, a journalist-in-training learning to embrace multimedia reporting, and I haven’t even done this yet.  Why didn’t I do it sooner?  You’ve seen pictures of me dancing.  Those are good, but what about video?  It’s a moment in time that you can see over and over again.  And, it’s a great way for a dancer to see where he or she can improve.  Well, without further ado, let’s go to the videos.

I participated in a local area Team Match today.  It went from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm.  I danced Viennese Waltz, Foxtrot, Tango Argentino, Rumba, and Cha-Cha.  To end my series on TA, here’s the first video.

What do you think?  Please be charitable.

This was the first time I danced TA in a competitive setting, so I really wanted to do well.  I’m largely pleased with it.  Well, except for when I lost balance and caused Tommy to lose balance with me.  Ugh…  My main focus was the acting because I had practiced the routine many times.  That slip-up caused me to break character.  Oh, well.  As far as mistakes go, it could’ve been much worse.

The final video is my Viennese Waltz, which I had to dance in the fifth heat.  That scared me a little.  So early!  I was just as determined to do justice by this dance because Viennese is the original waltz.  And I thought Slow Waltz made me feel beautiful.  Well, it still does, but there’s something very satisfying about dancing Viennese.  I think it’s because Viennese is much more of a technical challenge than Slow Waltz.  Well, that’s enough of my chatter.  Here’s the video.  (I apologize for the poor quality.  I don’t have any other video camera besides my phone, and the glare was horrible.)

Personally, I don’t think that’s too bad of a first try.  It was amazing to fly around the floor like that.  Again, I’d like you all to tell me what you think.  To close, I’d like to show you guys my favorite picture from today, which I got completely by accident.

game_faces

Look at those game faces!

2 thoughts on “Things to Share

  1. Brava, Elaina! I think you dance beautifully! Is there a significance to the green belts you and another dancer wore in the Viennese heat? Thanks so much for posting those vids!

    • Thank you. It means a lot when people compliment my dancing. I wasn’t feeling particularly good about my dancing after the competition.

      The competition was called “Team Match”. We had two other Houston studios come to ours because we were hosting. The red, blue, and green accessories are kind of like our team jerseys. We didn’t win, by the way. The blue team won.

The floor is yours now.

