Yellow Shirts and the Hokey-Pokey


In my earliest memories of dancing, I’m under my auntie Nancy’s dining room table, (which had been pushed off to the side of the room), watching my mom, dad, aunties, and uncles all dancing on the hardwood floor to a never-ending stack of 45 records, dropping one after the other. I remember foot-high stacks of 45s all around the record player. The song that I remember playing most? “Twistin’ the Night Away” by Sam Cooke. Every time I hear that song, I remember auntie’s spontaneous dance parties. What are your earliest and fondest memories of dance?

_

Can it be?  The Daily Post has given me a prompt that has to do with dance.  Rejoice!   I hated the prospect of dancing when I was little because I equivocated it with ballet.  Hence, my freshest memories are of a rebellious child jamming to the music in a petty protest against “girly-ness”.  (It sounds poetic when I put it that way, but those are the feelings that come up looking back as a twenty-something adult.  I’m sure when I was five or six, I didn’t give a crap about the “why”.)

In my mind’s eye do I see a verdant, fruitful gallery?  Shall we sift through the visions I’ve seen?

  • a pre-school child in a yellow shirt with text in clashing reds and greens.  It’s a day camp, extended care for the little ones.  We’re getting down to pop music and colorful strobe lights are swinging to and fro.  It’s dark, and I fade into the music.
  • dancing the Hokey-Pokey with childish abandon
  • celebrating my seventh birthday party and learning the Macarena for the first time.  I just couldn’t get those complicated arm motions.
  • bouncing in a light lavender dress with a flower garland on my head.  I was the flower girl, along with my sister, for a cousin’s wedding
  • Twirling with my Mom in my Pocahontas pajamas to “Beauty and the Beast” while the movie of the same name was playing on the TV
photo by Josephers (flickr)

photo by Josephers (flickr)

These are the visions I’ve seen.  They don’t seem like mine.  That’s why it felt slightly odd writing this, but it also made it easier to share with you.

11 thoughts on “Yellow Shirts and the Hokey-Pokey

  1. Pingback: Let’s Dance! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  2. Love it! From the time my granddaughter was able to sit up (7 years ago), we’ve done the spontaneous B. Family Hokey Pokey to celebrate the small victories – a birthday, a test score, a soccer game.,…

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: I’ve Danced and Once! | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Movement | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance |

  7. Pingback: … Remember that scene in Hitch? | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Put The Big Floppy Hat Down And Dance | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  9. Pingback: Let’s Dance | Alexia Jones

  10. Pingback: Blog Dance poem: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

The floor is yours now.

