Showing Joy


If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.

This is the Daily Post prompt from February 15th, but I’ll write about it anyway.  I elaborated on my now-not-so-secret-dream in this post. Now, I want to go more in-depth.

I’m young and don’t know what to do with my life yet.  Que sera sera, right?  (I often sing this song to myself as a reminder.)  Still, I have my dream: I want to be a ballroom dance teacher.  I’ve toyed with the idea of becoming a professional dancer since I discovered dance in 8th grade, but the scope has changed.  First, I wanted to be a professional dancer, like on “Dancing with the Stars”.  I eventually grew wiser, understanding that my love of performing would never override my desire to remain Hollywood-anonymous.

I never imagined I’d want to be a teacher of any kind.  I’ve morbidly joked to close friends that I’d probably choke my students before I taught them anything because I wasn’t the “right” type.  I could “see” kids pounding the floor in the throes of temper tantrums or intolerable adults that wouldn’t listen.  Everything changed during a studio open house.  Two teachers were putting on a demonstration.  Suddenly, it happened: “That could be me.”

I realized I had talent.  It was a simple, “I could do this.”  But, I’ve struggled with finding the balance between knowing your talents and remaining humble.  How did this happen?  Regardless, that moment gave me my dream.  It also resolved a question had concerning teachers.

The best teachers I’ve had truly loved their work.  They never acted like they were forced.  They never acted like their job was burdensome.  Yeah, they had bad days.  Even so, it was always clear to me that they treasured their position and students.  It brought them joy.  They wanted their students to see that joy, and it showed when they taught  For example, it amazed me that some math teachers really loved the material.  I had a vehement dislike for the subject and didn’t understand why anyone held such feelings.  I know better now.

That’s why being a ballroom dance teacher is my dream job.  Dance gives me great joy.  I have a blog dedicated to it, after all.  I find myself desiring to show others the joy of dance.  If that isn’t their preference, it’s fine.  I’d be happy having tried.  That’s where it all ties in.

 

This is Eddie, one of the studio's co-owners.

This is Eddie, one of the studio’s co-owners.

One thought on “Showing Joy

The floor is yours now.

