The Long Term


There’s nothing like the end of year to get the thoughts flowing.  (Though, for the record, I think too much anyway.)  It’s been a good one as far as dancing goes.  I’m really glad that it’s ending with my introduction to Bronze III.  But, dear readers, have I ever told you about my long-term goals?  I know I’ve mentioned fantasies.  Whatever the case, I’d like to write about two of them now.  Then, I’ll share a dream of mine I haven’t written about…yet.

High-Level Versus Well-Trained

The best scenario for me would be both.  However, if I had to pick one over the other, I’d choose well-trained.  High-level simply means you’re on a certain ladder rung, but what’s the point of being at that height if you’re not competent?  There’s no way I’d want to be a Silver dancer without the technique worthy of that level.

I’m no business woman, but there are probably people in any trade that are at a high level but do not belong there.  If I reach a certain level, I want to earn it through practice.  This ties into my next goal.

Fierce Competitor

I’ve only competed locally.  My biggest goal for now is to compete in a state competition.  This could either be in Texas or travelling somewhere else in the US.  The competitions I’ve been to so far are fun because they’re relaxed.  However, I have yet to be in a setting where it’s all business.  I’m pretty good at getting my game-face on and focusing when needed.  What a rush it must be!

This Dream Of Mine

I’ve always been rather indecisive about my career.  In fact, I still don’t know what I’m going to do once college is over.  But, if I could have my way, I’d want to be a ballroom dance teacher.  It’s funny.  I never imagined myself as the teacher-type.  I always joked that I’d probably strangle my students before teaching them anything because I’m so impatient.  But, partner dancing has given me so much joy that I’ve wanted to share it with others.  Yeah, at first it was just shameless plugging, or “You should try this.”  It eventually became a desire to teach.  I guess that’s how many people become teachers.  They love what they’re doing so much that they want to try to help others see how wonderful it can be.

Well, this is going to be my last post for 2013.  I hope everyone had a wonderful break, and I wish you all the happiest of New Year’s.

TommyandMe3

3 thoughts on “The Long Term

  1. I totally agree with you on the high-level vs well-trained. And if you want to be a serious competitor, then well-trained is the only way to go. Make sure your instructor understands and shares your goals.

    • I’ll definitely tell him that I want to be a serious, well-trained competitor because that kind of communication is crucial.

      That being said, he has multiple students, and I’ve observed the way he teaches each in comparison with myself, since different dancers have different goals. Watching them and paying attention to my lessons with him gives me the impression that he already has a good idea of my seriousness.

  2. Pingback: Showing Joy | …Then Came Dance

The floor is yours now.

