The Fine Line


Life is pretty good right now.  As 2013 ends, I’m beginning a new stage in my dancing.  I don’t really know what’s going to happen, but that’s what makes it exciting.

Tommy was recovering from strep throat during yesterday’s lesson, so he was still a bit congested.  At one point he said, “Man, it feels weird not dancing for a couple of days.  My legs feel like mush.”  I know how you feel, Tommy.  Whenever I come back from vacation, I always end up yelling at my body “Y U NO MOVE RIGHT?!” (Please excuse the lapse in proper grammar.)  Here’s hoping you recover during the break.  I really enjoy dancing with you.

There’s not much to write in terms of my actual lesson.  The focus was on American Rhythm.  We worked on some new school figures for Rumba and Cha-cha.  Often during my lessons, Tommy has a woman instructor demonstrate the step I’m learning.  As I was watching her, I couldn’t help but think “Yeesh, how in the world am I going to pull that off?”  Tommy asked, “What do you think?”  I responded, “Seems pretty hard to me.”  He wasn’t worried: “Nah, it shouldn’t be that hard for you because you’re Alaina.”  Cue extremely short pep talk: “Wait, who are you?”  I feel really awkward as I say “I’m Alaina.”

This isn’t the first time we’ve gone through that pep talk.  It happens whenever I express a lack of confidence.  I wonder.  Is it a teacher’s job to help me realize my fullest potential?  If it is, I feel that’s what he’s trying to do during these “talks”.  Yeah, I’ve been struggling with this concept lately.  How do you acknowledge your talent and potential without getting big-headed about it?

It seems to me that the best people I know don’t bother to hide their talent.  But, they don’t sit on their laurels either.  They use their gifts as a springboard, motivating them to work harder to get as close to perfection as possible.  Talent and potential are useless to them without hard work.  Man, if there was ever a tightrope for me to walk, it’s this one.  I want to be able to know I’m good without going overboard.  I want my talent to motivate me to practice even more.  Most of all, I want to be humble.  That doesn’t mean lying to myself and saying I stink at something when I don’t.  That’s a false sense of humility.  I don’t know what true humility is quite yet, but I intend to figure it out.

The floor is yours now.

