Movin’ On Up: First Bronze III Lesson


In no way does this describe my feelings towards the more studious aspects of dance. It just made me giggle.

When it comes to expressing positive feelings, I tend to keep them on the inside.  It’s the introverted part of myself.  I can be experiencing sheer joy, as in heaven-on-earth-joy, and not really show it on the outside.  That’s why I’m happy I have this blog because I always feel more open whenever I write.  Gentle reader, I’d like to share with you my feelings about my first Bronze III lesson.

What joy!  What a blessing!  I am actually dancing as a Bronze III student.  My program will be revamped after Christmas, but Tommy and I still sat down to chat about some dance goals before our lesson.  Here’s the plan:

Continued Dances

I will continue to dance the six major dances for American Smooth and Rhythm.  That’s Waltz, Tango, Foxtrot, Cha-Cha, ECS, and Rumba.  I enjoy them all and intend to get better and better.

New Major Dances (I am certain I want to learn these)

  • Viennese Waltz
  • Tango Argentino

The second one is just for fun.  All my dances up to this point I’ve learned for competitive purposes.  I wanted to add a dance where I could just, well, dance.  Most of the students I’ve observed at the studio learn Salsa, Two-Step, Polka, and WCS.  These are all dances you’re more likely to dance in a club, but competitions do exist.  I look at Tango Argentino in the same light.  However, I also took up this dance to challenge myself.  This is the man’s dance.  The woman has to literally wait on him to place her.  Some dances, like Waltz, have an “I-go-you-go” aspect.  Not this one.  Dancing Tango Argentino requires complete trust in your man.  I struggle with this and am learning it to refine myself further.

“Maybe” Minor Dances

  • Bolero
  • Mambo

Between the two of these, I am more likely to learn Bolero than Mambo because I’m more interested in the former than the latter.

Moving on to the actual lesson, I haven’t learned so much new material since I first started back in 2010.  We covered my new, major dances: Viennese Waltz and Tango Argentino.  Let me tell you something.  I knew Viennese was fast, but that’s nothing compared to actually doing it.  I had trouble keeping up at times, and I got dizzy.  But, I’d say I did really well for my first time.  I can’t write my feelings of joy with this one.  Both waltzes have an indescribable magic that just snares me.  That’s why both of them now share my number one spot on my dance list.  Tango Argentino was next, and we just went over the basics.  I had prior knowledge of this dance, but the one-on-one instruction helped more than the group classes.

That about wraps it up.  I said in my last post that I really feel like Bronze III is going to help me come into my own as a dancer.  I’m not into feeling over thinking, but I can’t shake this hunch I have.  Just wait.  I’m blooming now, but I’ll absolutely blossom as I continue in Bronze III.

The floor is yours now.

