Star-Gazer Entry #5: Friends


L’amor che move il sole e l’altre stele

Aristotle called it the greatest treasure a man can have, friendship.  Like the word love, I think the word friend is tossed around too casually these days.  I know I’ve used it more than I should.  There are definitely levels of friendship.  However when I use the word friend, I think of a person that’s willing to stick with me closer than my family if the situation called for it.  A friend is willing to call me out on my crap, but still extend his or her hand to help me up.  A friend will celebrate with me when something wonderful happens.  A friend will give me a shoulder to cry on or will cry with me when life gets really hard.  Most of all, a friend loves me for who I am.

In light of this, I want to thank a good friend from high school that’s still willing to keep in contact with me.  She’s my best friend.  I also want to thank my fellow regulars at the studio.  They’re the closest thing, in terms of proximity and regularity, that I have to friends right now.  They’ve been concerned about my schooling and the stress it can cause.  They’ve laughed with me and accepted my quirks.  And, despite the fact that I’m the youngest among them, they’ve treated me as an equal.

I guess I just wanted to express my gratefulness for what I already had before writing about what I wish I had.  It’s almost 9 pm at my university, and I finished my homework earlier today.  I have no classes on Mondays, so it’s a waiting game before I go to bed at around 10:30 to 11:00 pm.  I know a lot of students are studying together or just hanging out.  It makes me wish that I had friends in college at the moment.  Right now, I don’t.  There isn’t that crucial bond of trust yet, though most of them are very pleasurable company.  Mostly, I wonder, “What would it be like to have friends my age that also ballroom dance?”  I realize this may be wishful thinking on my part because my university does not have a collegiate team.  Plus, ballroom dancing can be quite expensive, depending on how much one participates. (That’s another thing I’m grateful for, my parents’ willingness to spend money on dance lessons.)  I don’t know, but I hope to find out someday.

The floor is yours now.

