It’s Been a Long Time Coming…


Disclaimer: Just in case it wasn’t obvious, I don’t own any of the links at the end of this post.

__

but I’ve finally done it!  That’s right.  I’ve finally gotten both my left and right splits.  Hooray!!!  Here’s the photographic proof:

my left splits

my left splits

my right splits

my right splits

For the record, I am not a gymnast and never have been.  So these aren’t “gym-perfect” splits.  But, they’re enough for me.  I’ve done them in the studio as well, where I’ve been met with some shocked looks.  As far as dancing is concerned, I think it’s a personal choice.  You don’t have to learn them.  However, I wanted to test the limits of my flexibility.  I still do.  That’s what this blog is all about, to see how far I can go in my dancing.  Once I get my right splits down better, I’ll be working on my center splits.  And don’t worry, I’ll be sure to include of picture of it when I get it.

__

Resources

The Criteria for a Proper Full Split (This is for gymnastics, where the splits is absolutely crucial, for the curious.)

wikiHow Article

More Split Stretches (I used these stretches myself, and I still use them.)

Parkour Action Man’s Vlog for the Splits (The stretches go by rather fast, so you may have to pause at the right moment)

Ballet for Men

Hip Flexor Stretches (My hip flexors are my personal problem area when it comes to my leg flexibility, so I’d definitely recommend these.)

The floor is yours now.

