That Dance Funk


Stating the obvious here, life can be frustrating.  One day, you’re on top of the world going, “I am doing so fine, if I do say so myself!”  The very next day you think, “Is the world still turning?  I feel like I’m stuck.”  The same goes for hobbies.  But, here’s the thing: passion is essential.  It’s the passion that will bring you back when you just want to bang your head against the wall and let sweet unconsciousness take you.  It’s the passion that will convince you not to quit because you can’t imagine life without it.  To me, dance is worth it.  This worth means it can be very, very hard.  Sometimes dancing is like walking on a treadmill.  I’m moving forward, but I’m not really going anywhere.  When I get in a dance funk, here’s some things I like to do:

Stop Dancing

“What is this craziness?” you say.  It seems weird, but it works for me.  There are moments where I know that if I keep dancing I’ll just scream in frustration.  That’s when I read a book, watch TV, or play a video game where I shoot down enemy fighter pilots. (Don’t judge me. 😉 )

Rest

This can kind of be a sub-point for the above.  Sometimes video games, books, or TV won’t cut it.  That’s when a good power nap comes into play.  If I can’t sleep, I just lie down and rest anyway.

Exercise

This is going to sound gross, but it’s oddly satisfying to have a good sweat.  Dance gives me that but not as much as a work out on the elliptical or treadmill.  That extra exercise will aid my dancing, too.

“Why do I dance?” or “For whom do I dance?”

I ask these very often when I get frustrated or depressed.  I vividly remember wanting to quit when my first teacher left.  I had only known him for a couple of months, but I still had a strong bond with him.  Back then it was unimaginable that teachers could leave at a moment’s notice.  But, he left anyway.  I found myself face-to-face with those two questions.  Their answers are similar.  First, I dance because it is a gift I have been given, and I would be stupid to stop using it just because of one hiccup.  Second, I dance as a form of worship to God and as a form of personal enjoyment.  Sticking by my answers has gotten me out of previous funks.

Again, it all leads to my love for dance.  No matter how many teachers I have to go through, I will still dance.  No matter the frustration, I will still dance.  Why?  Because dance is worth it.

The floor is yours now.

