Yay, Waltz!


Okay, I am mentally exhausted today for reasons I would rather not go into, so this post is going to be short.  Before I get into the content of my lesson, I have something I would like to update y’all on.  I will be participating in a Team Match on August 24th.  This one is not against the local studios.  Rather, we will be combining forces with the local studios against two other studios that will join together against us.  I will be dancing four dances Waltz, Rumba, Tango, and Lindy Hop.  The final dance is a bonus dance worth more points, and it will be an interesting change because I normally do Salsa for my bonus dance.  And yes, there will be pictures.

As the title says, most of my lesson on Wednesday was dedicated to waltz.  I hadn’t worked on this dance in a while, so it was a happy and refreshing lesson.  My memory is a bit hazy, but the two distinct things I remember working on were twinkles and crossovers.  Unfortunately, it’s very difficult for me to describe what a twinkle is, so if you need a visual, I’d recommend YouTube.  Also, there are multiple kinds of twinkles, and I am not sure which one I practiced in my lesson.  As for crossovers, they are distinctly different from Rhythm crossovers.  I have to stretch my body like a rubber band and stand on my toes during these.  It makes me feel pretty clumsy as I often stumble during this step.  The waltz may be my favorite dance, but it makes me feel pretty odd sometimes.  I mean, sometimes I feel as graceful as a ballerina when I dance, and sometimes I feel like a complete klutz.  In retrospect, I believe dancing just has that effect on me.

The floor is yours now.

