Just A Goal Post


Hey, everyone.  If you noticed the blog’s sidebar during my absence, I was preoccupied with a late spring class for two weeks.  It wasn’t your average two weeks either.  This was what’s known as a “mini-mester”.  A mini-mester is a let’s-shove-all-this-material-down-your-gullet-as-fast-as-we-can-course.  What this meant for me was four hours Monday through Friday of nothing but the material, hands-on exercises, and of course, exams.  Here’s the kicker: it was a computer class.  *Insert gag or other similar noise here*  Don’t get me wrong.  I needed this class to graduate as pretty much everyone these days needs to have a decent knowledge of Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint.  Fiddling with computers is fun.  Learning about them, not so much.  Anyway, that’s what’s been going on in my life lately.

But, to business.  The family and I will be leaving on our annual summer cruise in exactly one week, so I thought I’d leave y’all with one more post before I go, a goal post.  I guess I haven’t really made it clear what I want to accomplish when I dance, aside from the highly specific/philosophical.  Therefore, this post is going to be a rather lackluster list of my dancing desires.

Increased Flexibility and Strength

I’d say this is a universal goal for just about any dancer because everyone could use improvement.  I am a (current) non-balletic dancer with no gymnastic training.  Bearing those standards in mind, I’m pretty darn flexible with a rather elastic back and natural hyper-extension in both of my arms and legs.  But, I’m hungry for more.  I want to see just how far I can go.  For me, the ultimate dream is the ability to stretch one of my legs into an almost vertical position while standing balanced.  You can often see this in very experienced dancers and cheerleaders.  I know I’ve missed that crucial training period during “rubbery childhood”, but I’m probably not the only one.  Plus, I’m in my early twenties, so my body is still very limber.  All in all, I consider this goal to be a very plausible possibility.  Currently, I’m looking at taking up Pilates and searching for dynamic stretches I can use to help improve flexibility.  I’m also seeking strength training.

Ballet (!)

Oh, my gosh!  How long has it been since I’ve been to a class?  Too long.  Life has been getting in the way because my college schedule has physically not allowed me to take the early morning adult ballet classes on Wednesdays.  Ergo, I was in class during that time period.  Grrr!  Luckily, my new college schedule for the fall semester only has me in class in Tuesdays and Thursdays.  These days will basically be an average nine-to-five work day, but my Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays will be completely free.  The only snag is that I’ll be living in the dorms, too.  I’ll have to work out how to make time to go to the class.  It shouldn’t be too hard considering I only live around twenty-five minutes away from campus, and I could walk to the ballet studio if I wanted to.  Plus, at only $ 15 per class it fits the broke-college-kid budget perfectly.

Tap (!)

Honestly, I did not buy those tap shoes just so they could collect dust in my downstairs closet.  But, like ballet, life has been getting in the way.  Only this time, it’s through lack of availability.  Last time I checked, there were no adult classes available.  I’ll have to check once I get back from vacation.

So, yeah, that’s basically it.  I’ve officially decided that dance only needs to be a supplement to a much larger exercise regimen.  Hence, why I mentioned Pilates and strength training.  I honestly wish I could only dance, but I’m no pro dancer, though I do desire to be an Arthur Murray teacher someday.  But, until then, these are my goals.

The floor is yours now.

