Presenting the Envelope


*announcer voice*  Ahem, ladies and gentlemen.  For my 190th post, I am happy to announce that my cyber-friend, Stef, has nominated me for the Liebster Award, a nice little event for bloggers with less than 200 followers. *end of announcer voice*  It’s a very nice thing to see in my email inbox, and it makes me feel appreciated.  She commented on my most recent post:

Hey Girl!  I nominated you for The Liebster award.  I hope you’ll consider participating.

Not only was I nominated by Stef, but I was also nominated by a new-cyber friend of mine, fellow dancer ceciliamaria.  She commented:

Hey, lady!!!  I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy and appreciate your blog by nominating you for a Liebster Blog Award.  It’s just a little blogger-to-blogger recognition, and I wanted to recognize you!

This is in no way formal, so the rules change.  The impression I got from reading Stef’s post is that the person that nominates makes up some fun rules for the nominated blogger to answer.  I’ll be tweaking the rules found in Stef’s post a bit to fit my individual situation.  But before I open that envelope, I have to respond to Stef’s criteria for the Liebster Award:

1)  I want to thank both of y’all for nominating me for the Leibster Award.  I think this pave-it-forward action is very sweet of both of you.  I give you my thanks.

2) Eleven Random Facts

  • I have never dyed my hair.
  • I have never broken a bone.
  • I have never had stitches.
  • I am a world traveler and have been to China, Thailand, Italy, Greece, Turkey, Russia, Estonia, Denmark,  and Sweden, among many other countries.
  • My birth weight was three pounds because I was premature.
  • I am a former immigrant.  I was born in Jakarta, Indonesia on the island of Java.  I moved to the states permanently when I was seven.  My mother had to take the oath for American citizenship for my sister and me because we were too young to talk.
  • I have donated my hair to Locks of Love twice.
  • My first bee sting occurred when the bee flew up my jeans and started stinging me.  I hurriedly took my jeans, and the bee flew out my pant leg.
  • I got all four of my wisdom teeth out right before Thanksgiving.  That year, my Thanksgiving dinner consisted of a slight amount of mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce.
  • When I was living overseas, I went to the British school, where I developed a slight British accent, specifically when I said the word bath.
  • My biggest singer crush is Dean Martin.

3) My Answers to Stef’s Questions

Which of your blog posts is your favorite?  Why?

I don’t have a particular favorite, but I really enjoy my “Say What?” series about funny things I’ve heard in my studio.  It’s been a long time since I’ve written one of those posts, but I told my readers they would be very sporadic.

What is the best thing about you?

I love my intelligence.  Being able to truly read and understand helps me learn about myself more.

What is your biggest accomplishment?

I haven’t lived very long, so I’m not completely sure about this one.  But, if I had to pick an accomplishment I am immensely proud of, it would be sticking with my Pre-AP Chemistry class my sophomore year of high school and going to tutoring every single day for that extremely difficult subject.

Who is your hero? Who do you look up to?

I don’t have one particular hero per say, but I can name two.  I really want to emulate St. Augustine and St. Anselm.  Their writing, philosophy, and faith make them quite admirable.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

I really hate it when drivers on the road change lanes or turn without signaling.

What superhero power would you choose to have if you could have one?

If I could have the power to shape-shift into any object I desired, that would be totally awesome!

What is your most prized possession?

I have a bunny doll that’s about as old as I am.  It was a source of comfort for me when I was a baby.  Occassionally, I still snuggle with him when my anxiety flares up.

What is your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

I love bacon, a lot.  It’s like meat candy! 😉

If you could spend 1 hour with anyone who ever lived, who would it be and why?

There are many answers to this question depending on the context.  But, since this is a dance blog, I’ll go with a dance figure.  I’d love to spend one hour with Fred Astaire.  I know, surprising (read: sarcasm).  He was charming, handsome, and humble.  At least, that’s the impression I got from reading his autobiography and watching videos of him.  I’d ask him all sorts of things.  The list of questions is too long to type, but I’d love to ask him about his vaudeville days with his sister, Adele.

Have you ever broken a bone?  How?

Nope, I have never broken a bone.

Captain Picard or Captain Kirk?

Dad is a huge Trekkie, so he watched “Star Trek” all the time when I was little.  He only watched “Star Trek: The Next Generation”, though.  So, I grew up with Captain Picard.  In fact, I didn’t really even know about Captain Kirk until the first remake of the Star Trek movie came out.  Sad, I know.

4) Eleven Questions for my Nominee

  • Milk chocolate or dark chocolate?
  • What was your first car?
  • What is your best quirk?
  • What is your opinion of Facebook?
  • Have you ever worn a hideous dance costume?  If so, what did it look like?
  • Have you ever fainted before?
  • What is your favorite novel?
  • Do you have any weird talents?
  • Football, overrated or awesome?
  • Where did you go to college, and what was your major?
  • What is your favorite dessert?

Alright, now it is time to open the envelope.  My nominee is Ballet, You Say?  Thus, ends my post concerning the Liebster Award.  Pave it forward.

The floor is yours now.

