Local Team Match: Spring 2013 (Part II)


It’s my 180th post, and the second installment of my Team Match posts.  Without further ado, please enjoy these pictures from the Rhythm round.

Amy

Anna is the daughter of a teacher that isn't affiliated with the studio.  I think.  Anyway, both her parents seemed very proud of her.

Anna is the daughter of a teacher that isn’t affiliated with the studio. I think. Anyway, both her parents seemed very proud of her.

SillyRae&JoseI know there are fewer pictures, but I’m doing both these posts in one day.  Plus, I want to get to the results.  In a nutshell, our studio won the best in Bronze Division, and I felt happy that I contributed to our winning.  We also won best Newcomer Divison.  The Most Spirited Award went, sadly, to the Blue Team, while the Overall Best Studio Award went to the Red Team.

TheWinners

All three studios came together for one huge picture.

All three studios came together for one huge picture.

Let's not forget the all-important studio photo.  My leg is up because the photographer said so.  I must have misheard...

Let’s not forget the all-important studio photo.

Finally, I’d like to leave y’all with a picture of Tommy and me.

Tommy&MeI’ll let you in on something slightly embarrassing.  There was social dancing before the awards were distributed.  I danced with a man named Andrew, a really sweet guy.  We were dancing Salsa, and I managed to slightly bonk him in the lip with my arm as I’m doing a peek-a-boo.  He took it well, saying that it was probably his fault because he was new to dancing.  Regardless of who slipped up, I felt pretty bad.  At the time the picture was taken, Andrew was hanging around while Tommy and I were waiting for the shutter to click.  He remarked once the picture was done, “You two look cute together.”  Yes, this was a compliment, but I’ll admit that I let out an embarrassed giggle.  The way he put it made me feel like Tommy and I were an item.  *blush*  Oddly enough, this isn’t the first suggestion of the sort.  Upon seeing a picture with Eddie and me, a family friend remarked that he looked handsome, and I should “look into it”.  Yeah, she felt pretty embarrassed when I told her that he was married with children  Okay, my love for both these men is strictly platonic.  Anyway, it would have been different if Andrew had said we looked good together, implying an aesthetically pleasing partnership.  Maybe I’m just hyper-sensitive, but from my experience, a good deal of people don’t seem to understand the difference between my idea of a dance partner, a friend I dance with, and a romantic relationship, someone I could see myself marrying.  No harm done, though.  If one does not have the same experiences as platonic ballroom dancers, I can see why it is easy to misconstrue the nature of the relationship.  All this aside, the next Team Match isn’t until August.  I’ll be dancing, practicing, and hopefully advancing to Bronze III in that time period.  See you next time! 😀

Alaina

The floor is yours now.

