“Nothing’s impossible I have found. For when my chin is on the ground…”


Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!

__

Can anyone finish the line to the song?  It’s a wonderful little ditty from one of my favorite black and white movies.  Need a visual hint?

(This waste of space is the authoress’ feeble attempts to bide for time hoping someone, somewhere will finish the line to the song.  By the way, how’s the weather?  What’s your sign?  *Insert other useless questions here*  Did I ever tell you about that time at my aunt What’s-her-face’s house at that disastrous family reunion?  No, I haven’t?  Wanna hear it?  What?  I’m intentionally stalling?  No, I would never do that!  What am I doing, then?  Well, I’m…I’m…  Ah, forget it!  Here it is.)

swingtime

(The authoress would now like to apologize for her horrid attempt at humor. *self-slap on wrist*)

My lame joking aside, this truly is an addictive number with a simple, but oh-so-true message.  That’s why I love it.  If you fall on your butt, get back up, and try again.  Of course, that’s easier said than done.  I remember my first chemistry class in high school.  It was Pre-AP (the class before a college-level class where one can get actual college credit).  I kid you not.  I went in for help every single day to get help for that entire year.  I still wonder, “Was it worth it?”  Sure, I got a B in the class, hoorah.  But, why in the heck am I struggling in a much easier chemistry class in college?  Bah, whatever!  I do not intend to quit that class.  I’m behind enough as is without having to drop a class for a second time in my college career.

I hereby declare that I will leave anything school-related aside for the rest of this post by starting a new paragraph.  Besides, this blog is about dance and shall be about dance.  Most of the time anyway.  Truthfully, this song has been pretty relevant to my life lately, besides the fact that Fred Astaire will always have my heart.  I’ve been fighting off the feeling that I’ve been going nowhere.  Everybody gets that feeling sometimes, but I absolutely hate the fact that this is associated with dance.  I confess that patience has never been my forte.  Still, when the heck am I going to get to Bronze III?  I really want to learn Viennese.  *takes deep breath*  I know I’ll test out whenever my teacher feels I’m ready, and I’m willing to trust him on that.  But, it still is slightly frustrating that Nick left as I got so tantalizingly close.  However, I wish him all the best.  With a new teacher, there’s a new perspective to consider, but I can’t help but feel that I’ve taken a couple of steps back.  Last night, I went to the studio to practice on my own for the first time in who-knows-how-long.  As for the reasons why, I’d rather not go into them.  Thinking about it will just make me anxious and stressed.  I needed to go over the school figures I had memorized before DP left.  I knew waltz, tango, foxtrot, cha-cha, and rumba at my last recollection.  That equated to twenty school figures out of the forty I needed to know.  Not bad at all.  Well, I started marking and stumbling through the some of them when I realized that I wasn’t completely sure if I was doing them right.  Pushing the uncertainty aside, I continued going until I had completely refreshed myself on all of them—except one.  It was a rumba figure.

*Sighs*  Rumba, I swear.  If there’s one dance I have a love-hate relationship with, it’s rumba.  I love watching others dance it.  I love trying to convey the beauty of the human form with the sensual experience.  I hate how difficult and frustrating it can be.  I was having trouble keeping time, too.  That’s what I bring my own iPod for, but the music for the other students’ lessons was disruptively loud.  There was no way I was going to put my ear-buds in and crank it up either.  I wanted to preserve my hearing, thank you very much.  So, I just opted for mental counting.  It worked fine for all the other dances and the rumba basic, but when I got to that one, nasty figure, I kept losing time.  Grrr!  It’s at times like that when I begin to wonder, “What am I doing?  Why am I doing this?”  It doesn’t take me long to figure out the answer: because I love it.  I love it, and I know I have at least some talent for it.  Plus, all those awesome Silver and Gold dancers did not get to where they are by quitting.  That’s where my song comes in.  Sometimes things get irritatingly, or even agonizingly frustrating.  It makes you want to thow in the towel and just lie down in bed so you can evaporate for a little while.  That’s not truly living.  No, that’s vegetating.  I refuse to live a vegetative life.  That’s why I love to dance because it rids me of the temptation to live like that.  It’s helped with my anxiety and depression.  It’s helped me stay healthy.  I have a feeling that if I gave up dance, my life would begin to head downhill.  I certainly don’t want that.  That’s why I’m not going to quit, no matter what.  Someday I’ll learn Viennese.  Someday I’ll become a Silver dancer.  When those things happen, you can bet there’s going to be a celebratory post about it.  Until then, I intend to keep chronicling my dance journey.

13 thoughts on ““Nothing’s impossible I have found. For when my chin is on the ground…”

  1. Pingback: The Problem is Not The Problem | Stuphblog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Screen Favorite | My Blog

  3. Pingback: Voilà | The Daily Dilly Dally

  4. Pingback: The Usual Quotes Usually Work | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: I’m 37, I’m not old! | Paul Scribbles

  6. Pingback: The Big Question | So I Went Undercover

  7. Pingback: IF YOU’RE A BIRD….I’M A BIRD | hastywords

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Screen What we’ve got here is failure to communicate. | My Atheist Blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Screen | Soulmate | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  10. Pingback: May the force be with you – Daily Prompt – Silver Screen | Joe's Musings

  11. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Tammye Honey – “Screen Chemistry” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  12. Pingback: “It’s never a mistake to care for someone. That’s *always* a good thing!” ~ From ‘Radio (03)’ | The Hempstead Man

The floor is yours now.

