Bringing My C-Game, Yeah!


In case you didn’t notice, the title is dripping with sarcasm.  It accurately reflects the fact that I am royally frustrated and slightly pissed off.  No, I don’t want this blog to ever become a place for venting, but I hope the kind reader will forgive me for expressing my frustration at this time.  Everyone always has days where they just feel “off”, perhaps even a bit detached from themselves.  Today’s lesson was one of those days, and I really felt it.

Team Match is coming up on the 23rd of this month so the main focus was getting an idea of the moves my partner and I are going use during our ninety-second stay on the floor.  I’ll be doing Cha-cha, Rumba, Salsa, Waltz, and Tango.  Today, we mainly worked on Rumba and Salsa.  I have a love-hate relationship with the Rumba, so I’m used to the ups and downs.  However, I just felt totally out of sync with my dancing today.  It felt like I was just moving to the music rather than actually dancing.  The most frustrating part of the lesson came when I found that I was out of it with my Salsa, too.  Normally, Salsa is a very strong dance for me.  Well, not today.  All throughout the lesson I was thinking, “What the h*** is wrong with me?!  Where’s that A-game you normally bring?”  I guess my A-game decided to take a little holiday this lesson.  Grrr!  I can only hope that next week, when we work on Smooth, things will be back to normal.

Flummoxed and Frustrated,

Alaina

The floor is yours now.

