Blogging my first Symphony


prokofiev-1I want to assure my readers that I am still very much alive.  Happily, it has not been panic attacks that’s been keeping me from writing.  It’s been school.  I honestly hope y’all understand that I take my studies very seriously.  Though it pains me that I haven’t been too consistent these days, college is a top priority for me.  That being said, I’m not sure how often I’ll be able to update from now on.  I’ll try to blog as often as I can, probably at least once a week, but I can’t make any promises.

My love of music is one of the main factors that keeps me dancing.  Even when I’m not physically dancing, my spirit dances.  Hence, why I decided to attend my first symphony.  I knew that it had the capability of making me dance.  I was especially eager because the featured compositions were from Profokiev’s Romeo and Juliet, and Russian composers are definitely are favorite of mine.  Anyway, like my first opera, I want to share with y’all my initial, impulsive thoughts.

Before the Show

“Phew!  Downtown is such a maze!  I’m glad I made it here before 1:30 pm.  It may be a pain to get to the venue a full hour before the show, but the student discount tickets will be worth it.  Now, where did Professor Elliott say we’d meet again…” [proceeds to wander aimlessly until a kind, older gentleman points me in the right direction]

[looking at the price on the ticket] “Holy crap!  My seat was ninety-two freakin’ dollars at face value, and it only cost me, a lucky student, twelve?!  Then again, my seat is in Row C.”

Siegfried Idyll (Wagner)

“What a wonderfully sweet-sounding piece.  It certainly doesn’t sound like the one Wagner composition I’m familiar with.  The softness reminds me of a lullaby, as if he wants his beloved to awaken to the soft sounds of a lark.  The more vivacious parts sound like a real wedding celebration.  Despite his, ahem, love-background, I find this piece quite a romantic gesture.”

Wagner’s Love-Background: This was composed for his new bride, Cosima.  The nuptials for the couple, interestingly enough, came after they had a family together.  While she was still married to her previous husband, Cosima had a six-year love affair with Wagner.  She bore him three children, two daughters and a son, Siegfried.  After Siegfried was born, she divorced her husband and married Wagner.  This piece was composed in secret for her.

Violin Concerto No. 5 (Mozart)

“Ah, there is nothing like a good Mozart piece.  It has an indescribable quality to it.  But, how would I describe it?  I’d say a good portion of his music has a lively, almost bouncy quality to it.”

[featured soloist enters] “Wow, she’s beautiful!”

[watching soloist play] “Holy crap!”

[standing up with the rest of the audience in tribute to the soloist and piece]  “So, what would you call this?  Orchestral peer pressure?  It’s not that I’m not amazed by the soloist and Mozart.  But, I want to give a standing ovation when I want to.  Heh, the audience thinks this is amazing.  Just wait until we get tp Prokofiev!”

Intermission

[Intellectual discussion with Professor Elliot over enjoyment of symphony, musical dissonance, and mutual difficulty over reconciling Wagner’s wonderful music with his not-so-wonderful ideology which the authoress does not wish to rehash because she’d rather focus on the music.]

Profokiev’s Romeo and Juliet

Suite No. 2 opus 64

1) Montagues and Capulets
2) Young Juliet

Suite No. 1 opus 64

1) Masks

Suite No. 2 opus 64

1) Dance: Vivo
2) Romeo at Juliet’s Before Parting
3) Dance of the Antilles Girls
4) Romeo at the Tomb of Juliet

“Man, you know it’s a real Russian composition when the conductor gets into it, and he’s really getting into it!

[During “Montagues and Capulets”]  “Wow!  I’ve never heard the initial measures of this song before, though this is my favorite piece from the ballet.” [proceeds to give friend a thumbs-up because the music is so dang awesome.]

[The summation of the rest of my thoughts during all the rest of the show] “…”  That means I was really, really lost in the music.

The floor is yours now.

