“I’m Sexy and I Know It”


Authoress’ Note: Huzzah!  This is my 160th post.  This one serves as a sequel to this one.

__

I may not like the song, but it’s the perfect title for this post.  Currently, I am feeling contentedly reassured.  Perhaps I am not so clueless when it comes to being sexy after all.  Hmm, but I have to go about this explanation carefully.  The last thing I want to do is sound arrogant and all I’m-too-sexy.  My studio has a Bronze I group class on Saturday, but I don’t normally attend because I want to take a break from dancing.  However, since this is the last weekend before I have to go back to school, I decided to go because I wanted to dance as much as possible before the daily grind begins again.  We focused on Rumba, my love-hate dance.  We worked a bit on some Bronze I and II figures, but it was the arm-styling I enjoyed the most.  Arm styling isn’t really my forte.  All of my teachers thus far have mainly focused on my lower half, which is perfectly fine.  One can do nothing with one’s arms and still dance a step correctly, but there’s no point in magnificent arm styling when the step is done incorrectly.  That’s what Rebecca, one of the new teachers, told us.

Unfortunately, I’m at a loss when it comes to explaining the specific arm styling.  But, that’s not the focus anyway.  I don’t know how it happened, but as I was practicing during class, I felt a surge of confidence.  Suddenly, I thought, “Man, I am sexy!”  It all started coming together, and I am happy to say that I now have a new method for dancing sexily without going overboard.  I just pretend I’m a model strutting down the catwalk.  People are staring at me, taking my picture, and marveling at the beautiful clothes I’m wearing.  My job is to deliver, and that’s just what I intend to do.  To go on a brief tangent, models actually creep me out a bit because of their deadpan faces as they go down the catwalk.  My mom, who used to be a model, had to explain to me that they didn’t smile because the focus on the clothes, not the person wearing them.  It still doesn’t look too pleasant though.  But, that’s my method, and I’m sticking to it.  I can’t wait to practice this more.  I can’t wait to knock ’em dead!

__

P.S.: I have a bit of a confession to make.  As I was practicing and watching my movements in the mirror, I couldn’t help but think of my unrequited love.  Then I thought, “Dude, I’m gonna show you what you’re missing!”  I’ll admit that a large part of me wants to do that, but I won’t.  That’s not right, and there’s no point in trying to attract someone who won’t appreciate me.

The floor is yours now.

