The Snowball


Hey, all!  Sorry this post is late.  I’ve been trying to balance my relaxation, dancing, reading, and writing.  Besides dancing, reading is another favorite hobby of mine.  Unfortunately, I don’t have that much time to read during school because it already loads me down with books.  Moving on, this is the promised picture-post.  Unfortunately, the pictures are not high quality.  Taking pictures of people dancing with very poor light does not yield the best results, so I apologize.

The “Snowball” was on Saturday, and it’s what we call a Medal Ball.  A Medal Ball is similar to the weekly socials, but it is specifically for the students that have tested out of a rank.  I graduated from Bronze I to II earlier this year.  The attire is cocktail, so everyone was looking quite nice.  Okay, so here was the course of the evening:

  • Graduating students present some of the dances they tested out of.  Two Rhythm and Two Smooth.
  • Dinner
  • General dancing

There were several categories of graduation: Pre-Bronze, Bronze I, and Associate Bronze.  Most of the graduates were Pre-Bronze.  Two of them, myself included, were Bronze I, and the last two were Associate Bronze.  Associate Bronze are students that have graduated from Bronze II and III.  After Bronze IV, the student moves up to Silver rank.  Silver rank is when the student goes beyond the social genre and into the high-level competitive arena.  My primary goal is to get to that rank.  I think I’ve blabbered on enough.  Here are the pictures.

This is Rae and Fred.  If they seem familiar, it's becuase they were also in the Texas Area Team Match.

This is Rae and Fred. If they seem familiar, it’s becuase they were also in the Texas Area Team Match.

Rae and Fred Chacha

This is Suzanne, Nick's most recent student.  She was doing a Foxtrot in this picture.  It was also here very first spotlight dance.  Way to go!

This is Suzanne, Nick’s most recent student. She was doing a Foxtrot in this picture. It was also her very first spotlight dance. Way to go!

Suzanne 1

Pam 1

Pam was the other Bronze I graduate besides myself.

Pam 2

Elisha is another one of Nick's students.

Alicia is another one of Nick’s students.

You can't see her, but this is Maria.  She's often at the socials and she always brings the party!

You can’t see her, but this is Maria. She’s often at the socials and she always brings the party!

Maria 2

Eddie was joking about how "fat" he was throughout the whole night.  Hence, his really weird posture here.

Eddie was joking about how “fat” he was throughout the whole night. Hence, his really weird posture here.

Oksanna was also at the Team Match.

Oksanna was also at the Team Match

Smile!

This sweet little girl was watching us dance for quite a while.  I love this because I was that little girl at one point.  Unfortunately, I never had a cool dance studio where I could watch all the action.

This sweet little girl was watching us dance for quite a while. I love this because I was that little girl at one point. Unfortunately, I never had a cool dance studio where I could watch all the action.

Have a wonderful holiday!

Have a wonderful holiday!

The floor is yours now.

