Never Stop


My last lesson was on Friday, more school figures.  Unfortunately, my dear readers, I may not be able to blog about a lesson until I test out of Bronze II.  For me, this means I have to know twenty figures.  I can fail three dances and still advance, but where’s the fun in that?  I want to pass all my dances so I can compete in as many of them as possible.  For the curious, the dances I know are Waltz, Tango, Foxtrot, ECS, Mambo, Cha-Cha, Samba, Rumba, Hustle, and Merengue.  I’ve completely memorized the figures for Waltz, Foxtrot, Cha-Cha, and Rumba.  I need to go over the other six dances some more, as they haven’t completely solidified yet.  Ooh, I feel so close to testing out!  For an Arthur Murray student, Bronze III comes with the edition of three new dances: Viennese Waltz, Quickstep, and Bolero.  I’d like to learn Viennese Waltz and Quickstep before Bolero, considering I already have seven Latin dances under my belt.

The most unexpected thing happened while I was just learning those darn figures.  Maybe I’m reading too much into this, but it left an impact.  I believe we were working on Hustle when we went on a tangent.  This is normal.  Nick and I’s personalities are very much alike.  We’re both very energetic, taking on each task with gusto!  Sometimes we overwhelm those that don’t know us with our energy.  Those that know us, however, love us dearly.  All this to say that we go on random tangents all the time that are filled with giggles and the occasional sisterly slap from yours truly when he decides to tease me too much.  I don’t remember what we were talking about, but I do know that is was probably about dancing because he suddenly grabbed my shoulders so I could look him in the eyes.  Normally, this would make me uncomfortable and I would have to try to force myself to keep looking.  Not with Nick.  He told me in a surprisingly sincere and serious tone, “Alaina, never stop dancing.  Ballroom, I mean.  Do it until the day you die.”  I told him I planned just that because it’s the form of dance I loved best, which he approved.  Neither his sincerity nor his seriousness were what surprised me.  I think it was the timing.  I just wasn’t expecting it.  Here we are going over figures, a process that is probably more boring for him than for me, when he suddenly tells me to never stop dancing.

Like I said, I may be reading too much into this, but the suddenness and look in his eyes tells me otherwise.  Have you ever had a moment of unexpected poignancy with a teacher?  I’m pretty sure I have throughout my education, though none come to mind at the moment.  I don’t know how to feel about this, save to say that I feel…reassured in some way.  I’ve never been in a prominent teaching position, but I have interviewed two of my middle school teachers when I job-shadowed them in high school.  I asked them what they liked best about their job.  Both of them said that the greatest pay-off came when a student’s eyes lit up when he or she truly got the material.  I hope I’ve given Nick such gratification.  Honestly, I dance because I love it.  Yes, I want to become a high-level, competitive dancer.  Aside from that, I don’t care what happens.  It’s all in good fun.  DP, you need not worry, I’ll always dance.  Heck, I’m probably going to be one of those awesome ninety-year old ladies that still dances ballroom.  Ballroom has blessed me more than I ever thought it could.  Yes, Nick, you are a part of that blessing.  I won’t stop.

The floor is yours now.

