The Movement of the Feet and Healing of the Heart


Remember this post?  I’m here to give a brief update, and what it has to do with my dancing.  Yes, believe it or not, my love-life (or lack of it) plays a pretty large role in this hobby of mine.  I’ll make this mercifully brief for the both of us, reader.  I dropped the hints, but he didn’t take them.  I’m breaking my own heart to move on because I feel like I need to.  If he, or any other man for that matter, is ever interested in me, hopefully they’ll drop a hint or two.

That’s enough of that.  I’ve made my decision, and now I’m planning on taking care of myself the only way I know how: by dancing.  I sought my mom’s advice what to do with myself, and she told me to do things “that feed my soul”, that give me joy.  So, it seems that now is the time to dance more than ever.  You see, I haven’t been making time for dance as I used to due to college.  For ballroom, I used to practice on my own every Tuesday as the group classes were mainly foundational.  Mondays were Bronze I classes, Wednesdays were my private lessons and specialty classes, Thursdays were the long-awaited practice parties, and Fridays were my days off.  I went to dance four days a week.  Now, that’s been cut in half  to two.  So, I resolve to go at least three times a week.  Oh yes, and do split stretches when I do go, too!

Ballet… *sigh*  Ballet has disappeared, and I’m saddened.  Uptown Dance Centre has changed its schedule.  I can’t find adult ballet classes, and I don’t even know when Adrian teaches it, if he still does.  I know he’s the professional artist-in-residence, so he teaches the pre-professional classes.  I really miss him.  He truly was the best ballet teacher for me, patient, compassionate, kind, and a sense of humor to boot.  I don’t want to join any school, or anything like that.  I just want to reach my highest potential as a dancer, and ballet is the best way to that.  Heck, I’d even give up my dreams of going en pointe to do ballet at least once a week.  I don’t know what to do, really.  I guess I just need to wait.

Tap has also disappeared, but this doesn’t worry me as much because I didn’t stay long enough to develop any muscle memory, unlike ballet.  I started tapping because ISD wasn’t available, and I really wanted to learn how to make music with my feet.  Watching Fred Astaire’s many movies sealed the deal.  I tried going to a placed called “The Met”, but we were literally doing the same routine with the same techno remix.  I didn’t really feel like I was learning anything.  It just didn’t feel like the right fit for me.  I didn’t buy those tap shoes for nothing, so I’m currently searching for a new venue.  It looks like all I have is ballroom right now.  But, just like the right man, I’m willing to wait.

The floor is yours now.

