School Begins: Big Band for the Bamboozled


Note: I’m now attending Tap classes on Wednesday, as they are actual beginner classes.  So, I need to reschedule my normal private lessons with Nick, and decide when to blog them.  That explains why there was no Tap post Monday, and why my updates on my private lessons may be on hold for a little bit.

__

School started this week, and it was the Monday to end all Mondays.  That’s all I’m willing to say as I have no wish to relive the experience.  Sunday was much better.  We had a welcome-back mixer for our Honors Program.  Lo and behold, I make two astounding discoveries.  Number one, an incoming freshman guy actual likes dancing, and admits to it.  He knows how to Salsa, Swing, Rumba, and Foxtrot.  He was even teaching some of his classmates how to Salsa.  Whoo hoo!  The only sad part is the fact that he has a girlfriend.  It’s not what you think (I’m looking at you, people-at-school-that-try-to-pair-me-up-incessantly.)!  I was considering asking him to be my amateur partner for ballroom, but I don’t want to do it just yet until I know him better.  Apparently, his girlfriend dances, too.  Idealistically, this shouldn’t be a problem as ballroom dancers understand the need for platonic partnerships.  But, as I said before, I don’t know him or his girlfriend very well.  I have no idea how they will react to my request.  That being said, I’ll keep it under wraps until further notice.  Number two, I discovered two young men in my own class that love Big Band music.

Basically, Big Band sprung out of World War II.  These musical groups were essentially an entire orchestra with a prominent horn section, a woodwind or two, some strings, a piano, and maybe a drum for good measure.  Instead of playing classical music and whatnot, these groups played swing tunes.  You could Foxtrot to them also.  Sometimes, singers accompanied the bands.  The Andrew Sisters did some great work with Big Band.  Some notable names include Glenn Miller, Artie Shaw, Duke Ellington, and Harry James.  There are others, of course, but those are the big three that come to mind personally.

So, school’s started, and I really need to get into the swing of things.  The summer has been great, and personally, I wish I had a tad more R&R time.  When the alarm goes off at 6:30 a.m., I’m certainly not in the mood to get up. (I couldn’t think of a creative way to phrase that one…)  You want to turn the alarm off and sleep until noon.  Oh, why did the night not last longer!  Oh well.  After hitting the snooze button a minimum of five times, you drag yourself out of bed, get dressed, and trudge downstairs.

After a groggy but hastily eaten breakfast, it’s time to go to ready yourself for classes.  If you commute to college, like me, you have to drive there.  This can be a huge pain.  You need to be alert and sit through the morning traffic.  Maybe there’s a bus that you can take to school, so you can catch some more Z’s.  Sometimes, I personally wonder if people ever took the train to school. Nah, probably just for an excursion of some sort.  Well, in this commuter’s case, I’m mostly awake by the time I get to classes.  Before class, I like to indulge in some mellow-sounding music. (Hey, I said mellow-sounding, not uplifting.)  Although, this song gets me thinking, how often do couples wonder if the other is cheating on them?  I guess it depends on the couple.  That’s one of the great things about being single gal that’s never been on a romantic date.  Your state of detachment means you need not worry about the possibility of betrayed loyalties, at least in the romantic sense.

But, I digress.  School is tolerably okay.  Though, I do get bored very easily during those long gaps between classes.  Sometimes, I’ll sing quietly to myself with one iPod ear bud in. (Putting both in can cause the singer to go flat).  Or if I feel more energetic, I do what I affectionately call “sitting dancing.”  That’s where I boogie to the songs on my iPod with a couple of head-nods, slight upper body movements, and foot taps.

Eventually, the day ends, and I’m quite ready to head home.  The drive home gives me more time to sing and sit-dance.  Finally, I get home, eat dinner, work on some homework, spend of the rest of my time being brainless, and hit the sack.

The floor is yours now.

