100th Post Celebration: I Love…


Authoress’ Note: This one is going to be long, folks!

__

Oh my gosh, guys!  It’s my 100th post!  Yay!  I’d like to dedicate this post to all my readers, be they lurkers, likers or followers.  I wouldn’t have continued writing if I knew that no one was reading it.

I spent a long time thinking about how to make this post special, but I was too lazy to write a “100 Things” list.  So, I figure I’ll just do what I always do, write.  Obviously, this blog is about dance, and I love dancing.  There won’t be an absence of that in this post, but I have the urge to share more with you.  If you ask me what the meaning of life is, I’d say it’s about love.  Loving others, and sharing what you love with others.  Giving to others.  In light of this, I want to share with y’all some things that I love.  Some may be related to dance, others may not be related at all.  In no particular order, I love…

My DP, Nick

I have a steady head on my shoulders.  I know he’s not technically my dance partner because he already has a professional partner, and I’m just a student.  I know that there are professional boundaries separating us, and those must be respected.  But, I also know that he’s an excellent teacher.  I know I’ve never once felt inferior due to my amateur position.  I know he’s kind, sweet, and encouraging.  I know that he’s the only guy I consistently dance with concerning ballroom.  Yes, he’s my instructor, teacher, professional, etc.  But mostly, to me, he’s my dear partner.  Thanks for everything, Nick.  You have no idea how much you mean to me.

Writing

Hello, Captain Obvious. 😉  I began blogging because there was so much running though my head.  If kept crammed for too long, it starts to make me restless.  Writing is cathartic and therapeutic.  You can spill all your problems and praises to a blog, and it never talks back to you.  And if you’re really blessed, you’ll find out that others sympathize or just understand whatever you may be going through.

Rhythm Shoes

Unlike Smooth shoes, these wonders are open-toed.  I have no idea why, but I thank the heavens for that.  My feet can splay out comfortably in my shoe, and I feel much more grounded when I’m on the floor.  While my beloved Waltz should be danced in Smooth shoes, they crunch my toes even though they are fully broken in, and are the right size.  But, what doesn’t kill your feet makes them stronger.  I may hunger for Smooth dances, but my favorite shoes are undoubtedly Rhythm.

Swing Tunes

 The twenties through forties may have produced artists of the Swing Era, but that’s not what comes to mind when I think swing.  When I think swing, I think of diners, swivel-stools, checkered floors, hamburgers, fries, milkshakes, and poodle skirts.  That may be the totally wrong decade, but that’s the first thing that come to mind.  Plus, you gotta love the bouncy beat.  And, the actual dancing makes for great cardio.

Dante Alighieri

He’s my favorite Romantic writer.  At times, he’s bitter, angry, and dogmatic.  You would be too if you were exiled from your hometown for the rest of your life on pain of death, and all on trumped-up charges by the opposing political party.  While his writing can be offensive, I’ve read his Comedy twice through.  Hopefully, I’ll be reading it a third time this upcoming semester in college.  It’s hard to describe just what I love about his writing.  I love his honest, lyrical style.  And, I feel as if I can relate to him sometimes.  These may be poor reasons, but he’s still my only author-crush.

My former ballet teacher, Adrian

I’ve switched venues yet again.  I happened to have a hit-and-run on the way to Hope Stone Inc, and that ruined the whole thing.  That, and the Saturday morning classes were too early in the morning, and I kept missing them.  Now, I dance at another studio that happens to be near Hope Stone.  The ballet class was much better than the one at Hope Stone, but it still doesn’t replace Adrian’s teaching.  Like Nick, he’s sweet and caring.  But, what I love about Adrian is the way I’ve established rapport with him, and him with me.  There’s not too much talking in ballet, but I still managed to make a positive student-teacher connection with him.  Also bear in mind that ballet was the most intimidating dance-related thing I’ve done.  It made me want to cry at times.  I almost cried at the end of my very first ballet class in two years.  Adrian came up to me, and told me that I wasn’t bad.  I clearly knew the basics, but needed a little extra help.  He offered to teach me for five extra minutes after the adult ballet class, and he did.  Such gestures touch me very deeply.  Adrian, thanks.  I hope I get to come back and be your student again.

Russia

Random, isn’t it?  It all started during the beginning of my senior year of high school.  A friend of mine bid someone good-bye in Russian, and I’ve been hooked ever since.  My first DP, Victor, and his wife, Milana, made me want to learn Russian even more.  Alas, school is in the way, and I need to make time between it and dance.  I know a couple of phrases:

  • My name is…
  • What’s your name?
  • How are you?
  • Good and very good
  • Hello and good-bye
  • I’m a student
  • What?
  • Do you speak Russian?
  • Thank you
  • Please
  • You’re welcome

That’s about it.  As for Cyrillic, I can write my own name, and I’m barely literate.  Mostly, Mom has to help me read because she took Russian throughout high school as her language course.  Overall, my grasp of Russian is enough to surprise most native speakers, but not enough to hold an actual conversation.  This summer, I fulfilled a personal dream and went to St. Petersburg with my family for two days (an entire post in itself).

Tap

You may already know that I like ISD, but really, I enjoy any form of shoe-noises that aren’t rubber-soled.  That includes tap.  Even before ISD, there were occasions where I expressed my desire to learn tap, mostly when I saw it in the movies.  Mom bought me tap shoes when I was really little and still living in Indonesia.  I vaguely remember walking across the floor and heartily enjoying the sound they made.  Well, my first tap class was two days ago, and I had an absolute blast!  I was sweating bullets, but extremely happy.  Today, I got my first pair of tap shoes.  Here’s hoping tap can be integrated in this blog of mine somehow…

Chocolate, especially dark

What’s not to love?  I’ve found that dance has been an enabler for my chocolate obsession.  Yet another perk of dance. 😉

My Family and Friends

This one’s a given.  They put up with my energetic shenanigans, enable me to get a good education, and pay for my dance.  So, I ask the same question as above.  What’s not to love?

“Stupid” Moments

You can’t live your entire life at full intellectual tilt.  At least I can’t.  That’s when I decide to be “stupid”.  Watching TV shows like “Wipeout” is the perfect outlet for losing brain cells.

Reading

Learning to read was an enormous pain, but now I can’t stop.  I just finished The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.  Next up is Confessions by St. Augustine.  I plan to get into autobiographies soon.  However, the school reading list comes first.

A Well-Dressed Man

There’s nothing like a man all cleaned up for a formal even, especially in a tux.  And if he’s in tails… *swoons*

Endorphins

The hardest part of exercising is getting off your butt and doing it.  After, you get to enjoy hormonal candy.  Yep, endorphins.  It’s the only thing that kept me running when I ran.  Now, I get dance endorphins.  Whoo hoo!

Theater

I just love being someone besides me (Don’t take that the wrong way.).  When I act, I am someone else.  The best parts are the bit parts because you can mold most of character yourself.  There’s also the rapport you build with your fellow thespians during those long rehearsals. I love musicals, certain ones, too.  You can sing, dance, and act in them.  It’s the whole package.

Dean Martin

He’s my only celebrity crush.  *swoons*  Sure, he may be gone physically, but not when I listen to him on my iPod.  I don’t know what I like more, the fact that he sings or the fact that he’s Italian.  He also had an awesome variety show.  Speaking of which…

“Whose Line is it Anyway?”

This is like a modern variety show.  Unfortunately, the show was cancelled in the early 2000s due to lack of ratings.  I avidly watch the reruns though.  It’s all improvisation.  Here’s one of my favorite clips:

Did you catch Colin’s (the person who sang the last line of the song) guilty look at his line?  Truly, they are all married, and all gentleman.  Hence why some of the jokes make the jokers feel bad.

Poetry

You may have read some of my own compositions on the blog, but I really prefer to read it.  I’m a Shakespeare nerd, and love to quote it.  Dante, well, scroll up near the beginning.  It’s an indescribable expression of the soul.  Finally…

Fred Astaire

Sorry, Gene.  You’re number one right up there with Fred when it comes to the best dancers of all time.  One can still have a personal preference when it comes to the two, and I choose Fred.  I’m biased, probably because of his connection to ballroom, and his gorgeous ballroom-style tap, too.  Yes, he wasn’t considered a looker for his day and age, but his old school charm attracted me too him.  I’ve seen seven out of ten of his movies with Ginger Rogers.  Loved them all.  Then, I’ve seen him in clips of shows such as “What’s my Line?”  He seems so shy and modest.  That’s another thing I love about him, and a trait that I find highly desirable in men.  I guess it’s because I’m loud and obnoxious.  I need someone to balance me out.  Back of topic, I also love his singing.  RKO may have said he couldn’t, but I find his soft, intimate voice to be very soothing.  Whenever I listen to him on my iPod, I close my eyes, and it’s like he’s there in the room with me.  His acting isn’t half bad, either.  Overall, he never fails to bring out my natural smile.

Well, that’s about it for my 100th post.  Here’s to one hundred more!

2 thoughts on “100th Post Celebration: I Love…

The floor is yours now.

