Initial Impressions


Where I am right now

You may not remember, but one of my earlier posts mentioned that I suddenly had to change ballet venues due to schedule problems.  My former studio not only has a very busy summer schedule that keeps me from dancing consistently, but its Wednesday classes start at 9:15 am.  I have an 8:00 am class this semester, and I am not willing to wait another semester just to go to the same studio.  Hence, I went as a drop-in student at a place called the Hope Center, which is a part of Hope Stone Inc.  If you missed my other post about this, Hope Stone is a non-profit organization designed to help people of all ages express themselves through dance.  Today, I went to the Beginner/Intermediate from 9:30 am-11:00 am (it’s Saturday, for the record).  In summary, my initial impressions are mixed, and while not ideal, I intend to stick with this studio.

I’m a largely positive, idealistic person.  That being said, let’s start with the positives.  First and foremost, I pleasantly surprised myself with the amount of material I retained.  My last adult class before this one was in May, and I held my own in class.  This shows me that muscle memory has firmly implanted itself in my body.  Nor did I feel “small” because of large discrepancy in skill.  There were steady beginners like me, and intermediates that were very nearly advanced.  And, there were beginners still waiting to break in the learning curve, which I’ve already broken.  Overall, a pleasing mix.  What was most surprising is that there were beginners below me, which I’d never seen before.  Thus, they often ushered me towards the middle or in one of the earlier groups during center & corner work.  Thanks to my muscle memory, barre and center were done pretty well on my end.  I had some hiccups here and there, but I left largely satisfied with myself.

Before I move on to the negatives, I feel the need to inform my reader that these observations come from one that has just finished her first class at a new place.  One, the class is large, very large.  I’m not a big fan of large classes at all, nor am I big fan of crowds.  That’s just a personal preference.  And, there was considerably less floor space than the previous studio.  We always had to be on our toes, so we wouldn’t get in the way of our classmates.  I never caught the teacher’s name, but she seemed nice enough.  Though, a part of me just wishes a guy was teaching because I feel more comfortable that way.  The biggest letdown had to be that there was no place to park near the studio.  I spent a good half hour in powder pink ballet tights and a black leotard searching for my car before I actually found it.  Yes, my sense of direction isn’t as sharp as I want it to be, but I was also in a new part of town.

Overall, I miss my old studio, and like it much better.  But, you know what?  I’m going to keep going to this new one.  Just because I don’t like it right away doesn’t mean I’m going to give up.  That’s a wimpy move.  The same goes for ballet.  I know I have the capacity to learn to love ballet because I wanted to learn it in the first place.  Sometimes, one has to learn to love something.  That’s just what I’m going to do.  Fake it until I make it.  (Yes, I want it that badly.)  As for keeping a journal, I don’t think so.  If anything noteworthy happens, I’ll be sure to write about it, but I don’t want to keep a daily journal as my material might go stale.  Until then, I give you my best wishes in your endeavors, and hope you’ll give me your best wishes in mine.

Where I Wish to Be

The floor is yours now.

