Star-Gazer Entry #3: Disney Dreamer


L’amor che move il sole e l’altre stelle

I recently came back from a trip from northern Europe.  The plane ride was ten hours and a half long.  I watched six movies in row to kill the time.  The third one I watched was Beauty and the Beast.  I hadn’t watched this movie in, gosh, at least five years.  Watching it reminded me not only of my childhood, but of how I can always dream.

Before you ask, yes, I am a proud 90s kid.  No, I won’t complain about how I believe Disney has spiraled downhill.  The VHS player and tapes may be gone, but with today’s increasing technology, I’m sure I’ll be able to pass these movies on to my children and their children.  Here’s what most people don’t know about me: underneath all the logical, stone-walled exterior is a born and raised Disney kid that still believes her wildest dreams can come true no matter how tough the circumstances.  Of course, this world loves to stomp on dreams, so I’ve had to keep her guarded (perhaps a little too well).

Ahem, but I suppose I should tell you about my dream instead of reminiscing, eh?  Here, I’d like to show you one of my most beloved Disney scenes.  I remember when I was, oh about six, my Mom and I danced to this in the living room while this scene was on.  It was almost my bedtime but I wanted to dance, so I danced with her (in my Pocahontas pajamas, of course!).  My simple dream is simply to have that special waltz with that special guy.  Me in a fancy dress, him in a fancy suit (preferably with Fred Astaire coat-tails 😉 ), and a whole ballroom to dance in.  It doesn’t matter if there are lots of people because, really, it’ll just be the two of us.  That dream came from that one Disney scene, and I intend to keep it with me, even as I grow older and the memories of my Disney days grow older with it.

Listen, as cheesy as this may sound, hold on to those dreams.  This is coming from a woman who once lost sight of that Disney kid and was incredibly jaded and cynical.  But, behind every cynic is just a crushed idealist.  Even if those dreams seem so close but just out of reach, don’t give up.  Go back to the source of those dreams, and find your inner little kid.  Let’s dream together. 😀

The floor is yours now.

