Dream Dancer


Hello, readers!  I’d like to present you with another poem inspired by a dream I had two nights ago.  As to the contents of the dream, I’ll leave that to your imagination.  I confess that I feel a bit anxious to post this as it shows my more vulnerable side, which I don’t particularly like to expose.  But, that’s the beauty of poetry.

I’d like to share a bit about my relationship with poetry.  The start was rather hideous.  No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t compose a poem with decent rhythm, so I gave up.  As I grew older and my writing skills improved, I found that I just had to find the beat of my own inner music, and composing became easier.  Today, whenever I’m particularly inspired, I write a poem about it.  I’m no professional, and my rhythm is still a bit rough.  But, I know I have it in me, and I’ll definitely keep practicing.

I saw you last night, when day faded away.

You took me in your arms.

You held me and we swayed.

__

You smiled down at me, taken by your charms.

I returned your beaming glance.

My heart was beating steadily, yet sounding wild alarms.

__

You wouldn’t let me go; I stayed throughout the dance.

Your warmth, in turn spread through me.

When it came to my loving heart, you wouldn’t take the chance.

__

Then, the dance faded, but I was left with glee.

I was given a blessing.

It was a glimpse of you and me.

The floor is yours now.

