Fresh Prespectives and Bewilderments


As most of you already know, I’m on an unwilling, but sadly necessary hiatus from ballroom.  So, that only leaves ballet in my life.  I only go to ballet once a week, but I’d rather have that than no dance at all.  I’m a newbie, only been dancing for seven months.   Consequently, this post concerns the impressions I’ve gotten from dancing ballet, rather than tips/reports on progress.

The Structure

Without a doubt, ballet is the most structured of the dances.  If you’re prone to fidgeting, like I was (I have ADHD, and I fidgeted very much when I was younger.), then this probably won’t be the most comfortable dance for you (not that it’s very comfortable anyway).  In that regard, I’m glad I started when I was eighteen, and the attention span & fidgeting that bothered me when I was younger disappeared.  One of the hardest things for me when I first started was constantly keeping my legs straight.  I still deal with it, thinking my leg is straight when it’s really not.  Things have gotten better, and I actually enjoy the restrictions that ballet has.  Of course, if you’re the kind of person that doesn’t enjoy that level of organization, like some of my friends, then I’d suggest modern dance.  I’m a structure freak.  Sudden schedule change?  I will not be happy.  In a word, ballet is perfect.

The Actual Dancing

No joke.  Ballet has to be the one of the most beautiful dance forms I’ve ever laid eyes on.  It’s really no wonder it’s been around for centuries and is still adored by many.  While I’m passionately in love with the beauty of ballet, I must admit that I have yet to fall passionately in love with the actual dancing.  I enjoy it immensely, and I’m proud I’ve been able to overcome the my apprehensions about my “advanced” age.  But, I have yet to make that magical, intimate connection with ballet.  I sincerely hope that I do.

Bewilderments

A beginner is beautifully bewildered when taking ballet (and alliteration almost always annoys 😉 ).  That’s me.  I have many, many questions, but I will only write a select few down.  Feel free to answer any if you can.

1)  Can you really build enough muscle to be able to hold your leg up insanely high while on relevè?  Obviously, the logical answer is “yes”, but I’m having the hardest time believing it.

2)  How in the world can those dancers spot so well?  (More of an exclamation than an actual question.)

3)  I wonder how far I can go?

4)  Any tips for pirouettes?

5)  How about chaînés?

6) Help, they do a really crazy floor combination just before the class ends, and my eyes are wide with terror!  Should I just suck it up, and do my best impression of a flailing fish.  Or, should I just stick to my cozy corner?

__

P.S. Tomorrow is my birthday.  It’s on a school day, but that doesn’t bother me too much.  What does bother me is the fact that said school day includes a mandatory lecture on Machiavelli when all the past lectures in this series of lectures have been boring as heck.  Oh, well.  Here’s best wishes to me on my birthday! 😀

The floor is yours now.

