Some Unfortunate News


My friends, I’m sorry that I’m not being as consistent as I used to be.  For one, my Internet has been down for the last couple of days.  Secondly and most importantly, I have an announcement to make: I am unwillingly, but necessarily taking an extended hiatus from ballroom dancing after a local competition on the 21st.  Even my attendance at that event is tentative.  I would rather not divulge why I’m doing this, but I will say that personal reasons have prevented me from living healthily with ballroom in my life.  It hurts like hell not having my primary passion, but I’ll live.

What does this mean for this little blog of mine?  Well, I’ll say that this blog is not on hiatus, but don’t expect too many ballroom-related posts in the coming weeks/months.  There is still ballet, however, and that’s going to become a primary focus in this blog for a while.  I’m not nearly as experienced with ballet as with ballroom, but I’d love to share my personal experiences in ballet with you.  As for my ballet journal, I am considering its revival, but don’t hold your breath.  I’ve said all I need to say, and now all I have to do is wait this whole fiasco out.

Yours truly,

Alaina

3 thoughts on “Some Unfortunate News

  1. Oh Alaina, I’m sorry to hear that. I’m genuinely bummed that I won’t get to read more of your fun, funny, and insightful ballroom posts. I totally support you taking care of yourself, however that looks and I’m sure you are doing the best thing for you. How can I best support you during this time? Hugs. -Stef

    • You’re so sweet, Stef! Just that comment helped support-wise. I’m cautiously hoping this won’t be too long, and I’ve heard of others who have taken an unwilling hiatus. One of my good friend’s wife broke her leg, and she couldn’t
      dance for a year. If she can pull through, I can, too.

      I still read your blog, so I’ll be showing up on that more often, too. And, it’ll be interesting to see how ballet works out since I’ve only been doing it consistenly for seven months. Once again, thank you for your concern and friendship.

      • You are so welcome. I love ballet too, though it’s not my forte. I always remind myself that everything happens for a reason, there is a purpose behind the seeming chaos and that when one door closes, another opens. I have no doubt you will not just “pull through,” but thrive, evolve, grow, maybe in ways you wouldn’t have even thought. I’m rooting for you and believe in you. -Stef

The floor is yours now.

