A Reunion with a Dear Teacher


I used to have my weekly private lesson on Friday at 7:00 pm.  That had to be changed to Wednesday at 5:30 pm because there are just so many dang college events on Friday nights.  I normally don’t take well to change, but this one worked out fabulously, in more ways than one.

First, it’s earlier in the week, and my energy levels are much higher than they are on Friday.  Second, it’s earlier in the day, and I get to dance sooner.  Third, my DP started scheduling them on days like Wednesdays because he wanted to teach me sooner (awww!).

The real blessing came before my lesson with Nick.  I had just finished my stretching when a very familiar face walked in the door.  It was Victor, my first dance teacher.  If you’ll recall from previous posts, Victor left when I went on vacation with my family this past summer.  I came back hoping to see my then-DP, but he never showed up until one of the teachers broke the news to me a couple of weeks later.  Needless to say, there were times before today that I thought of him.  I thought of how proud he would be because I had come so far in my dancing since he left.  I often hoped I would see him again.  Well, I did.  He played catch-up with me and asked me what was new.  I was very proud to tell him that I was a Bronze II student.  He also asked about college and my family life, all of which can be summed up with one word: busy!  It was just great to sit down with him and talk.

A little bit about Victor.  Unlike my hyper, energetic DP, Victor was more reserved and laid-back.  It was a great partnership because his chill personality really balanced out hyper one.  He was sweet and compassionate as well.  Considering he’s a father himself it’s easy to see where it comes from.  As a teacher, he was gentle, but knew when to push me to accomplish harder figures/techniques.  Case in point, I had just recently become a Bronze I dancer.  A Team Match was coming up that December, and he wanted me to do at least one dance.  Just for clarification, a Team Match is a competition between three studios in a local area.  There are three divisions: newcomer, bronze, and silver/advanced.  I was terrified.  Sure, there were going to be other dancers on the floor, and they were all going to be at my skill level.  That didn’t change the fact that I had taken a year-long hiatus from ballroom, and that I had never really progressed past the initial beginner’s level.  I mean, I had only been dancing for four months.  Was I really ready?  According to Victor, I was.  I decided to trust him.  The Team Match went better than I had ever hoped.  I danced a Cha-Cha, and I messed up a bit.  Victor reassured me that I did great, and that he was proud of me.  That made it all worthwhile.  Although, I’m pretty sure I didn’t keep that smile plastered on my face as he advised.  It was probably more like this:

The point is, Victor pushed me towards it when I was pretty hesitant.  For that, I thank him.  I danced another Team Match with him in April.  This time I danced five dances: Cha-Cha, Salsa (considered a specialty dance), Rumba, Tango, and Waltz.  I also danced with him during our weekly socials.  We had lots of great dances together, and while I do miss him, the memories outweigh the negative feelings.

Well, that was a pleasant trip down memory lane.  But time moves on, and I have to get better, even if life decides to throw me a few curve-balls.  There’s a happy ending to this story: Victor will be coming to my fourth Team Match on April 21st.  I already know that he’s proud of me, but I can hardly wait to show him through my dancing!

2 thoughts on “A Reunion with a Dear Teacher

  1. Hello, I’m trying to find out who owns the rights to the photo you used in your masthead. If you know or just to know where you got it from, I’d be very grateful. Thanks.

    • I just found it through a search on Google images. I think I typed in the phrase “dance teacher,” but it’s been a while.

The floor is yours now.

