Filling Those Shoes: Learning Curve Calculations


It could just be the eye of the storm, but I’d prefer to the contrary.  I think I’m finally getting comfortable with myself as a ballet dancer.  For this, I have to thank my awesome teacher, Adrian.  He’s sweet and very encouraging.  The fact that he was willing to play “catch-up” with me for about five minutes after class when I was a bare beginner testifies to this.  I also have to thank my classmates.  Most of them are older and way more experienced than I am, and I see them as dancing role models.

Last week, I accidentally slept in and missed my 9:30 class.  I was thinking that this one would be a bit harder because I’ve missed a whole week’s worth of practice (I only do ballet once a week).  Nope.  Slowly, but surely I’m getting better at this, and the learning curve is starting to smooth out a bit.  My favorite parts of the class so far are adagio and believe it or not, center, because I feel I can really let loose and go for it.  My least favorite are our frappe exercises because they’re still quite fast for me, not to mention leg agony.  I probably shouldn’t be complaining.  Woman twice my age do it with enormous amounts of grace, and my teacher has screws in his knee from when he tore his ACL.  Someday I’ll get there.  When I do, I’ll be sure to tell you all the details.

The floor is yours now.

