Hey, Don’t Hair-Whip Me!


Is this a list or pet peeves, or some general rules that all newbies should adhere to?  Well, it leans more towards the former.  But, after some consideration, I realize that these irritants are useful to keep in mind when one goes out dancing.  Just like my similar post on “Stinky Pete.”  These “rules” come from my experiences personal experiences.

1) “Fix Your Hair”

Just as the picture shows, your partner or unfortunate bystanders, can get whipped by your long hair.  So, if your hair is long enough to be an unintentional weapon, please put it back somehow.  Now, for you ladies with longer hair, don’t think a simple ponytail will do.  I’m gonna go all ballet on you and suggest you put it in a bun.  I speak from personal experience.

I was waiting for my private lesson to begin, and I was just standing off to the side watching other people dance.  There is this certain couple that often practices their Smooth dances at the studio (Smooth is just another word for ballroom.  Ballroom dances specifically are dances that travel around the room, like waltz).  They were waltzing around the room when the man turned his lady near me.  Normally, this wouldn’t phase me.  What did phase me was the fact that the lady’s extremely long, low ponytail smacked me in the face whilst they were turning.

2) Que Up

Yep, there’s a line you have to follow in dance, too.  It’s called the line of dance, and it travels counterclockwise.  Please, do not go against this line.  The whole purpose of the line is to avoid jams and collisions.  With bigger socials, there will often be several lines of dancers, so going against it is not only impolite, but slightly dangerous.  These lines are often divided by experience.  Find the line where the newer dancers are dancing, and join it.  My studio is small, so we often have only one line, but it always irritates me when I run into a couple going right when they should be going left.  The last thing I want to do is run over some unfortunate newbies just because they don’t know which way the line moves.

3) Speaking of getting run over…

If you decide dance is for you, and you decide to use the space to practice with your partner or by yourself be conscientious of people around you.  You’re sharing the floor.  This should be common sense, but our couple mentioned in the first example seems to believe otherwise.

They are very experienced, excellent dancers with a lean toward the Smooth dances.  Often they’ll waltz.  Sometimes, they’ll quickstep.  However, I cannot count how many times I’ve been in a private lesson and they’ve almost run into meAt times, my DP (that’s dear partner) has often had to shuffle me out of their way.  They also have danced right into group classes, where they conveniently decide to stop right in gap that separates the guys from the ladies. the  Um, hello?  Can’t you see there’s another activity going on here?  Did I mention that both I and a friend of mine have almost gotten run over because they’ve decided to travel near where we were walking?

Just because you have the experience to get the most out of the floor does not mean it’s yours.  Other people are want to learn, too.  I’m not saying this was their intent, far from it.  I only wish they were a bit more aware.

4) PDA

I dance at an Arthur Murray studio, and there are a lot of wedding couples.  Ironically, they aren’t the problem.  They occasionally give each other a peck on the lips or cheeks, and that’s all fine and good.  However, the term PDA implies the continually use of affectionate bodily contact in a place not appropriate to do so.

One certain couple is always PDA-ing.  I turn around, and he’s giving her a kiss on the lips.  Our group class teacher has gone to the restroom, and he’s giving her a kiss on the neck.  They always seem to be giving each other kisses.  This has happened at most group classes I’ve shared with them.  People, dance in itself can express so much of that emotion, especially some of those Latin dances  Use that as an outlet to radiate towards the audience as a performance.  If you’re going to get your nasty on, go somewhere else away from people.

5) Watch Those Arms!

I’ve spent enough time ragging on random dancers.  Time to self-deprecate!  Let’s say you decide to stick with ballroom dancing.  Inevitably, you’ll learn some arm styling.  Remember that in the social scene, the dance floor can be quite crowded.  So if you know any arm styling, you might want to save those for your lessons or something.

I was dancing Cha-Cha at my studio’s weekly dance party.  DP and I were doing cross-overs.  Unbeknownst to me, one of the other female teachers was behind me dancing with one of the newer dancers.  I go to flourish my arm and smack her in the side of the head! Smiley  I began apologizing profusely, but fortunately she was cool about it, and even danced with me despite my previous assault to her cranium.

Just stick to your common sense and you’ll be just fine.  Plus, if you do have any questions, ask someone around the floor who isn’t occupied.  Asking questions is the best way to increase knowledge.

One thought on “Hey, Don’t Hair-Whip Me!

  1. Pingback: I Think…I Think They’re Watching Me… | …Then Came Dance

The floor is yours now.

