Filling Those Shoes: A Fresh Start


Hello, friends.  Here’s hoping you had a most wonderful holiday and New Year.  Well, here’s to a fresh year of dancing!

I must be honest.  My buttocks is bruised, albeit not as bruised as last time, but still bruised.  Yes, this class definitely kicked my rear.  Still, I’m happy.  I haven’t been to class since last year.  Add Christmas and New Year’s and I thought I’d be a flailing fish today.  Not so.  In fact, I think I’ve *gasp* improved.  Even though the class was brutal, I found barre work and the center much easier than last year.

This hypothesis is substantiated by the fact that my teacher has stopped putting in the extra time after class to play “catch-up” with me.  Now, all I have to do is get the most out of each and every class and hope for improvement.

The main goal for this year is to go into my own personal zen mode.  As a former runner, I was taught that I was competing against myself.  The same thing is true for ballet.  If I can just block everyone else out, except my teacher obviously, then I won’t go into the dreaded “no0b move.”  That is, compare myself to my classmates.

Don’t ask me what my New Year’s dancing resolutions are because I don’t have any.  My goal is the same this year as it was last year.  I want to improve, and I want to reach my absolute highest potential as a dancer.  I want to stop expecting, because the most wonderful things in dance–and in life–occur when you aren’t expecting.

The floor is yours now.

